Compliance & Investigations

Avert risks, Reveal abuse.

Those in charge of a business must ensure that neither through the business nor out of the business criminal acts are committed. Today, a multitude of organizational, educational and regulatory measures are obligatory for any company. If those measures are not implemented, or they are implemented but not continuously checked and adapted, and this leads to violations of the law, especially by employees, the managers in charge and the company itself face heavy sanctions. Times, in which prison sentences for courted board members and worshipped managers were a pure twist of the mind have long since passed. Fines and asset forfeiture can affect the company directly and lead to its destruction.

The entirety of measures and processes implemented by a company to ensure law-abidance (Compliance) is also known as the Compliance Management System (CMS). With their abundant knowledge in preventive compliance-consultation – including but not limited to the healthcare sector – our advisors will assist you with quickly and effectively building a successful compliance system tailored to your demands.

Together, we define compliance goals, and identify compliance risks specific to your business. Based on this analysis we will then implement an adequate compliance program. Our advisors will also assist you when your existing compliance management system needs to be checked for effectiveness and suitability, selectively or as a whole, or if you require it to be continuously monitored.

Should it already be too late for preventive measures, personal liability risks can only be reduced and official investigations can only be minimized, if individual suspicions or anomalies in the system are investigated and reviewed. Our experienced advisors – who are used to close and respectful cooperation with the responsible personnel – will defend you, affected manager or employee in charge, as experienced external advisors during the course of these internal investigations – which can also lead criminal investigations.

Compliance & Investigations

Risiken abwehren, Missbrauch aufdecken.

Wer ein Unternehmen leitet, muss dafür sorgen, dass aus dem eigenen Unternehmen heraus keine Straftaten begangen werden. Werden keine effektiven Organisations- , Schulungs- und Aufsichtsmaßnahmen ergriffen oder sie später nicht mehr kontrolliert, können die verantwortlichen Manager, aber auch das Unternehmen selbst empfindlich sanktioniert werden, wenn es deshalb zu Gesetzesverstößen durch andere Personen – insbesondere Mitarbeiter – gekommen ist. Haftstrafen für einst hofierte Vorstände und Geschäftsführer sind heute längst nicht mehr undenkbar. Bußgelder und Vermögensabschöpfungen treffen das Unternehmen unmittelbar und können dessen Existenz vernichten.

Die Gesamtheit der im Unternehmen eingerichteten Maßnahmen und Prozesse, um Gesetzestreue (Compliance) sicherzustellen, wird als Compliance-Managementsystem (CMS) bezeichnet. Aufgrund langjähriger Erfahrung in der präventiven Compliance-Beratung – insbesondere, aber nicht nur im Gesundheitssektor – helfen unsere Anwälte schnell und effizient beim Aufbau eines passgenauen Systems mit Augenmaß.

Gemeinsam werden sinnvolle Compliance-Ziele definiert und unternehmensspezifische Compliance-Risiken identifiziert. Auf dieser Grundlage wird dann ein adäquates Compliance-Programm umgesetzt. Unsere Berater sind aber auch gefragt, wenn ein bestehendes CMS auf Geeignetheit und Effektivität punktuell oder insgesamt überprüft oder laufend überwacht werden soll.

Kommen geeignete präventive Maßnahmen zu spät, lassen sich persönliche Haftungsrisiken und behördliche Ermittlungen nur minimieren, wenn einzelne Verdachtsfälle oder systematische Unregelmäßigkeiten untersucht und aufgearbeitet werden. Bei diesen unternehmensinternen Untersuchungen (Internal Investigations) stehen wir Ihnen als erfahrene externe Berater – die die enge und respektvolle Zusammenarbeit mit den zuständigen Unternehmensmitarbeitern gewohnt sind – zur Seite, aber auch dann, wenn es gilt, sich als betroffener Manager oder Mitarbeiter im Rahmen einer Internal Investigation – die schnell ein Strafverfahren nach sich ziehen kann – zu verteidigen.